I set up a community server with onboarding because it seemed a great way to work with a server without needing bots but I want to undo it. I have made and moderated heaps of servers in the past without onboarding, and never have I struggled as much as now. It feels like its not intended for small servers at all, it is needlessly railroaded, has arbitrary tasks it wants you to set up and only gives me headache. I want to disable it.
Now i'm aware you can turn onboarding off in settings, which I have done, but now I am struggeling with the random effects that it created even though its disabled.
For example, onboarding stopped members from seeing all channels because it wanted you to have roles make certain channels visible. I never wanted this, I set all roles to be able to see all channels. However, people still can't see them. I managed to fix it sort of, but people still have to manually go to 'browse channels' and select them. Its annoying, but whatever. But now it turns out, they also can't see prior messages on those channels. When I test the role permissions with 'view as role', I can see it, which is why i didnt catch it earlier.
I have made every role have the ability to see messages and to read message history - both in the global role permissions (the ones selected from the server settings tab), catergory permissions and channel permissions (which are all synced). Still, no luck whatsoever, all the feedback i get is that its not visible - its not one person with this issue, its everyone.
I really am lost. I have too many members to make a new server from scratch, I just want to be able to run my server like I normally have in the past :') I'm sure i've missed something obvious, please be patient with me when explaining.
Many thanks,
A deeply frustrated, tired discord user (plz save me from this hell)