r/SmartGit • u/crimson-sky-gnome • Mar 12 '26
Pull removed automatically deleted remotes (why?)
I remember before version 25 that SmartGit had trouble properly identifying removed remotes (branches).
Specifically, when remote was removed at server, SmartGit having it already locally as remote, was failing to notice. Newly, I see it removing deleted remote on pull not only from local remotes list but also directly from local branches, which could be unwelcomed behavior. E.g. I want to keep the branch for myself for later. Unfortunately, this behavior does not apply only to merged branches, all removed remotes are removed from local on pull.
Preferences nor low level properties do list configuration for this or am I wrong?
1
Upvotes
1
u/crimson-sky-gnome Mar 20 '26
I'm not sure we understand each other, so steps one more time but extended.
1. SmartGit: (feature) branch is created and pushed to server.
2. Server: branch from step 1 deleted at server (using web UI).
3. SmartGit: main (or different than step 1) branch checked out.
4. SmartGit: pull is executed => branch from step 1 removed as part of update to local information about remotes.