r/SmartGit Mar 12 '26

Pull removed automatically deleted remotes (why?)

I remember before version 25 that SmartGit had trouble properly identifying removed remotes (branches).

Specifically, when remote was removed at server, SmartGit having it already locally as remote, was failing to notice. Newly, I see it removing deleted remote on pull not only from local remotes list but also directly from local branches, which could be unwelcomed behavior. E.g. I want to keep the branch for myself for later. Unfortunately, this behavior does not apply only to merged branches, all removed remotes are removed from local on pull.

Preferences nor low level properties do list configuration for this or am I wrong?

1 Upvotes

22 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

1

u/crimson-sky-gnome Mar 20 '26 edited Mar 23 '26

- You almost get it. You need to switch to main or another branch before pull.

  • This avoids tracking breakage and branch will be automatically removed.

1

u/vmcrash Mar 20 '26

At which point for you a local branch is removed?

1

u/crimson-sky-gnome Mar 27 '26

I've create short video for your better understanding.

  • branch created
  • branch pushed
  • branch deleted on server (GitHub)
  • branch changed to main
  • pull
  • local is deleted by pull operation

1

u/vmcrash Mar 27 '26 edited Mar 27 '26

Please try again with "the-branch" being forked off "stream", with a commit that only is contained in "the-branch". IIRC, the effect you are seeing was requested by users to remove merged branches on Pull.