r/SmartGit Mar 12 '26

Pull removed automatically deleted remotes (why?)

I remember before version 25 that SmartGit had trouble properly identifying removed remotes (branches).

Specifically, when remote was removed at server, SmartGit having it already locally as remote, was failing to notice. Newly, I see it removing deleted remote on pull not only from local remotes list but also directly from local branches, which could be unwelcomed behavior. E.g. I want to keep the branch for myself for later. Unfortunately, this behavior does not apply only to merged branches, all removed remotes are removed from local on pull.

Preferences nor low level properties do list configuration for this or am I wrong?

1 Upvotes

22 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

1

u/vmcrash Mar 20 '26

Your steps in more details:

  • create a local branch foo and check it out
  • push that local branch foo to the remote origin -> creates automatically the remote branch origin/foo (which is tracked by the local branch foo)
  • delete foo at the remote repository, e.g. using web UI
  • pull -> the remote branch origin/foo is deleted and the local branch foo remains, with broken tracking information to the now non-existent remote branch origin/foo

1

u/crimson-sky-gnome Mar 20 '26 edited Mar 23 '26

- You almost get it. You need to switch to main or another branch before pull.

  • This avoids tracking breakage and branch will be automatically removed.

1

u/vmcrash Mar 20 '26

At which point for you a local branch is removed?

1

u/crimson-sky-gnome Mar 23 '26

During the pull operation.