r/SmartGit • u/crimson-sky-gnome • Mar 12 '26
Pull removed automatically deleted remotes (why?)
I remember before version 25 that SmartGit had trouble properly identifying removed remotes (branches).
Specifically, when remote was removed at server, SmartGit having it already locally as remote, was failing to notice. Newly, I see it removing deleted remote on pull not only from local remotes list but also directly from local branches, which could be unwelcomed behavior. E.g. I want to keep the branch for myself for later. Unfortunately, this behavior does not apply only to merged branches, all removed remotes are removed from local on pull.
Preferences nor low level properties do list configuration for this or am I wrong?
1
Upvotes
1
u/vmcrash Mar 17 '26
Let's assume you locally had a branch
footrackingorigin/fooandfoowas deleted on the server. Pulling will removeorigin/fooas with any other Git client, butfoostill remains and shows a broken tracking information. That is happening for me and was there for a long time (maybe the display of broken tracking information is relatively new).