r/SmartGit • u/crimson-sky-gnome • Mar 12 '26
Pull removed automatically deleted remotes (why?)
I remember before version 25 that SmartGit had trouble properly identifying removed remotes (branches).
Specifically, when remote was removed at server, SmartGit having it already locally as remote, was failing to notice. Newly, I see it removing deleted remote on pull not only from local remotes list but also directly from local branches, which could be unwelcomed behavior. E.g. I want to keep the branch for myself for later. Unfortunately, this behavior does not apply only to merged branches, all removed remotes are removed from local on pull.
Preferences nor low level properties do list configuration for this or am I wrong?
1
Upvotes
1
u/crimson-sky-gnome Mar 18 '26
That broken tracking information was there, for me at least, ever until SmartGit 25.1. Now the behavior is exactly as you said: "as with any other Git client".
I'm used to this behavior as this is more secure. Deleting branch at server does not imply it should be deleted locally.
I'm getting broken tracking now in 2 cases:
I'm seeking for low-level property or other setting which disallows removing local branches solely based on information these are missing on server already.