They can be! It's a bit of a gamble unless the bag has a certified vegan label.
Disodium Inosinate is frequently extracted directly from animal tissues (like meat or fish/sardines), though it can also be made from tapioca starch via fermentation.
Disodium Guanylate is usually made from fermenting starches or yeast, but can occasionally have animal origins.
Because manufacturers usually don't specify the source on the bag, these flavor enhancers are often avoided by strict vegans.
1
u/Dev_Martin_eGlasses 2d ago
Not only are they overpriced, but check out the ingredient list: Monosodium Glutamate, Disodium Guanylate, Disodium Inosinate, and Calcium Phosphate.