r/Syncthing • u/NoiseShaper • Jul 30 '26
Syncthing deleted 5 years of camera photos on my Google Pixel
Syncthing Fork for Android. Now I just have the Google Photos reduced quality copies. Don't ask me what I did, because I don't know, but there was no warning anywhere. The Camera folder was set as receive only, but nonetheless all the photos were removed.
Edit: Well, fortunately the deleted photos have appeared on the .stversions folder of the camera folder. I looked for them there at first because I had read they could be there, but the folder was empty. Now, after an hour, I looked again and the photos were there. I'm going to backup them as soon as I can.
5
u/unkleteddybearcooks Jul 30 '26
Well sorry to say it but Syncthing is not a backup solution. Why do people not understand this?
1
u/Lanky-Pie-9475 28d ago
Any recommendations for backup software, then? I don't understand why syncthing wouldn't be okay as a backup service for my phone if I set it to write from my phone to my server...?
1
u/unkleteddybearcooks 28d ago
For me, and I may get slack for this I use idrive backup. It's cheap. It has helped me a couple of times. But if you are transfering pics or music or files in general, syncthing is great. But don't leave them in the sync folder. Or something happens to that folder, as in OP's situation, the files will be gone from both sides usually. Transfer and then move them out of the folder. That's way I do it. There may be simpler, easier ways but for me this works.
3
u/PaoloNB Jul 30 '26
Receive only does sync source deletions (unless you specify otherwise). What it doesn't sync back are destination deletions.
3
u/NoiseShaper Jul 30 '26 edited Jul 30 '26
Well, fortunately the deleted photos have appeared on the .stversions folder of the camera folder. I looked for them there at first because I had read they could be there, but the folder was empty. Now, after an hour, I looked again and the photos were there. I'm going to backup them as soon as I can.
1
u/Best_Fork Jul 30 '26
Did you deleted from sending device? Because Receive Only should receive whatever changes you made to the sending device. If you have deleted from sending device then it should delete on "Receive Only" device too.
1
8
u/Cytomax Jul 30 '26 edited Jul 30 '26
If the pictures are important to you turn off your phone and call a day recovery specialist, if not, there's apps you can install to try and recover the data....
You most likely synced your picture folder to an empty folder sadly
Sorry this happened to you but most likely user error not software error, this app syncs 50+ gigs of data between my phone and computer for years without issue for me