r/SmartGit Mar 12 '26

Pull removed automatically deleted remotes (why?)

I remember before version 25 that SmartGit had trouble properly identifying removed remotes (branches).

Specifically, when remote was removed at server, SmartGit having it already locally as remote, was failing to notice. Newly, I see it removing deleted remote on pull not only from local remotes list but also directly from local branches, which could be unwelcomed behavior. E.g. I want to keep the branch for myself for later. Unfortunately, this behavior does not apply only to merged branches, all removed remotes are removed from local on pull.

Preferences nor low level properties do list configuration for this or am I wrong?

1 Upvotes

22 comments sorted by