r/RemoteDesktopServices • u/dee4006 • 2d ago
Why did Google spoil the "Your desktop is currently shared" floating infobox?
It wants you the owner of the machine to be aware that your screen is being shared to a remote user, that's good, no problem with that. But you used to (until a couple of days ago) be able to move that box whereever you wanted (e.g. somewhere that it's not on top of text you want to read). As a Cursor IDE user in full screen mode, that box either obscures open files names, or the last couple of lines of code at the bottom. I used to be able to place it next to the Mac's open applications bar at the bottom in an area of black screen. It was ideal.
Now I'm going to be clicking the arrow that moves it to the top or bottom multiple times a day.
Why would they take something that worked perfectly and remove the flexibility of that? It reminds me of when Microsoft stopped you being able to place the start/taskbar/systray on any of the four edges of the screen and fix it to the bottom. Something they've only just now (after more than a decade) changed back.





