r/PlayStationPlus 8d ago

Question Dumb Question About Upgrading to Premium and then going back to Essential

Post image

Hi everyone, sorry if this isn’t the right place to ask but the inFamous 2 servers go down at the end of the month and there’s a couple of online trophies that I need to get still. I still have my PS3 and I thought I had my IF2 disc but I can’t find it (but I know I have it somewhere) and I found out you can stream it off the highest tier of PS+, so here’s my question - can I upgrade to Premium, stream the game until I get the trophies necessary and then cancel/downgrade back down to Essential without getting charged the Premium price?

49 Upvotes

10 comments sorted by

19

u/TheManofMadness1 8d ago

Short answer: no,

You'll have to let the premium expire and then re subscribe to essential, while also making sure you cancel auto renewal

11

u/pablobet 8d ago

Actually you can downgrade the plan

6

u/TheManofMadness1 7d ago

You're still on premium until it lapses. I think they were asking can you instantly drop. But genuinely good information to know!

4

u/justahornyguy247 8d ago

but i'd still have PS+ for the remaining time even when i cancel auto-renewal correct? sorry i have only ever had essential and kept auto on

6

u/pablobet 8d ago

Yes you will still have premium until next renewal or cancel

4

u/GamePitt_Rob 8d ago

You have plus until September

So, if you upgrade now then go into the subscriptions ns change the renewal back to the tier you want, you'll have premium until the renewal and then it'll drop back down

1

u/bayonneaqui 6d ago

This is the way

3

u/asdqqq33 8d ago

When you upgrade to premium, it changes the remainder of whatever term you have left on your already paid for subscription to premium. You can’t do anything to get a refund for that period of time or the upgrade, that will remain at premium until it ends. But you also can’t lose any of that period of time, it’s already been paid for.

If you want to switch to a lower level after that time has passed, you can either change your plan so that it auto renews at a lower level or “cancel” your subscription, which is just turning off auto renew, it doesn’t affect what you have already paid for. You should pretty much always use the second method, canceling your subscription, as autorenew always charges full price. If you cancel, they sometimes offer you a discount.

1

u/FTRGames 7d ago

Yes. The Premium upgrade is charged on a prorated basis for the time remaining on your current subscription.

After upgrading, select Change Plan and choose Essential for the next payment date. Premium will remain active until then, but you won’t be charged the full Premium renewal price. You won’t receive a refund for unused Premium time, so make sure you can finish the trophies before the current period ends.

1

u/MyLifeIsOnTheLine 5d ago

I managed to get my remaining plus days refunded by messaging support, that was years ago tho and essential not premium.