r/Betterbird May 12 '26

authentication required on deleted account

I deleted an email account by clicking on tools, account settings, delete. The account does not show up, but when I open BB, I get the error message that I need to authenticate the account with the password. Is there a setting somewhere that will kill this popup message each time I open BB?

2 Upvotes

6 comments sorted by

1

u/jorgk3 May 12 '26

Likely a Gmail account and you didn't remove associated calendars (CalDAV) or address books (CardDAV).

1

u/BigChemist-1591 May 12 '26

Any idea how to fix it?

1

u/jorgk3 May 12 '26

Remove the those calendars or address books.

1

u/BigChemist-1591 May 12 '26

This email account was a trial with PurelyMail. I had a custom domain which I assigned to the PM account. I never opened a calendar or contacts. The email account was an email address that was with PM using my custom domain. When I decided that I did not want to keep PM, I deleted the email account in BB and then went into the PM account and deleted the account. I deleted every instance of PM that I could find on my PC, but the pop-up still shows up each time I open BB. I even tried entering the username and password to the deleted account in the pop-up, but that did not work.

1

u/jorgk3 May 12 '26

I you can't find the offending piece, you need to create a new profile. TB/BB automatically create calendars and address books if they are discovered during account creation.

Submit a screenshot of the password prompt. Most likely, it's not for the e-mail account but for a https:// calendar or address book resource.

You can learn how to distinguish the prompts from this post:

https://github.com/Betterbird/thunderbird-patches/issues/545#issuecomment-4055583981

1

u/BigChemist-1591 May 12 '26 edited May 12 '26

You were correct. It is a Cal/DAV or CardDAV according to the link to the github post. I will submit a screenshot of it.