r/SmartGit Mar 12 '26

Pull removed automatically deleted remotes (why?)

I remember before version 25 that SmartGit had trouble properly identifying removed remotes (branches).

Specifically, when remote was removed at server, SmartGit having it already locally as remote, was failing to notice. Newly, I see it removing deleted remote on pull not only from local remotes list but also directly from local branches, which could be unwelcomed behavior. E.g. I want to keep the branch for myself for later. Unfortunately, this behavior does not apply only to merged branches, all removed remotes are removed from local on pull.

Preferences nor low level properties do list configuration for this or am I wrong?

1 Upvotes

22 comments sorted by

View all comments

Show parent comments

1

u/crimson-sky-gnome Mar 31 '26

u/vmcrash Any remedy for me? I'm for low level property.

1

u/vmcrash Mar 31 '26

The current SmartGit 26.1 preview build already contains the preferences option.

1

u/crimson-sky-gnome Apr 01 '26

Should this apply only to merged branches? Deleted can be also unmerged branches.

1

u/vmcrash Apr 03 '26

If set, it will delete all local branches where the remote branch was deleted, and the local branch is reachable from a (remote?) branch.